The World Food Prize Foundation

Iowa SHARES Nominations

Nominations for the 2024 Iowa SHARES Award are now open!

The World Food Prize Foundation established the Robert D. Ray Iowa SHARES Humanitarian Award (“Iowa SHARES Award”) in 2013 to recognize an Iowan who has provided significant leadership in uplifting their community through dedicated action and service, either at home or abroad.

The award honors the exceptional leadership that former Governor Ray demonstrated in dealing with multiple situations affecting refugees in Southeast Asia and is named after the “Iowa Sends Help to Aid Refugees and End Starvation” campaign he created in 1979. Learn more about the history of the award.

The 2024 Iowa SHARES Awardee will be celebrated at the 2024 Iowa Hunger Summit on July 31, 2024.

Applications are open from March 11 - April 15, 2024.

Award Criteria

Candidates must be Iowa residents and have made substantial humanitarian contributions to Iowa or another state or country. Candidates will be evaluated and selected based on the following attributes and accomplishments:

  • Leadership
  • Impact
  • Fortitude
  • Philanthropic ideals

Previous recipients have represented all sectors, including NGOs, faith-based communities, political organizations, and businesses. 

Nominate an inspiring Iowan

Nominations for the 2024 Iowa SHARES Award are open now. Nominators should submit basic information about their nominee and prepare a statement of work and achievement that speaks to the nominee's strengths and humanitarian contributions.


© 2024 The World Food Prize Foundation. All Rights Reserved.